PST Names Energy Advocate Award Winners

Idaho Falls, ID. - The Partnership for Science and Technology (PST) has announced the winners of the fourth annual PST Energy Advocate Awards.  The awards are presented to individuals or organizations that were central to a noteworthy achievement in energy, nuclear energy or an environmental field that is of interest to PST members.

The awards will be presented at the annual PST Awards Luncheon on February 21, 2012 at the Red Lion Hotel in Idaho Falls. The awards ceremony will be held in conjunction with the Greater Idaho Falls Chamber of Commerce weekly business forum; it will start at 12:00 noon and last approximately 60 minutes. Contact Lane Allgood at (208) 313-4166 or for ticket information.

2010 PST Energy Advocate Award Winners

National Energy Advocate Award : Department of Energy Office of Nuclear Energy.  The Office of Nuclear Energy was selected for the award based on the support provided to the people of Japan in response to the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear reactor crisis in March 2011, including the rapid, effective utilization of the diverse resources and capabilities of the Department of Energy and the national laboratories.

Local Energy Advocate Award:  Teri Ehresman, Communications Liaison for INL’s Nuclear Programs.  Ms.  Ehresman was selected for the award based on the significant role she played in highlighting and sharing the great work INL is doing in advancing nuclear energy.  In addition, Ms. Ehresman’s expertise in communications has been key in helping educational institutions and elected officials better understand nuclear energy initiatives.

Nuclear Energy Advocate Award: Dr. Kathryn McCarthy, INL Deputy Associate Laboratory Director for Nuclear Science & Technology.   Dr. McCarthy was selected for the award based on her role as a leader in the international nuclear energy science and technology community and her tireless efforts to share her passion and educate others about the benefits of nuclear energy.

Energy Education Advocate Award: Mr. Ken Erickson, Division Director, Eastern Idaho Technical College. Mr. Erickson was selected for the award based on his many years of providing leadership for the summer science-camp programs, which provide students with the unique opportunity to explore the wonders of science and technology, and his work with the Idaho National Laboratory in providing workforce training for laboratory employees.


The Partnership for Science & Technology is a nonprofit, public-interest organization advocating for advancement of science, energy and technology and providing accurate and timely information on related regional activities including those at the Idaho National Laboratory.

Media Contact: Lane Allgood, (208) 313-4166,

Posted on February 10, 2012 .