2014 Washington DC Trip

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                             March 21, 2014

Eastern Idaho Community Leaders Return from DC Advocacy Trip

Idaho Falls, ID. March 21, 2014–Five eastern Idaho community leaders, including Idaho Falls Mayor Rebecca Casper, traveled to Washington, D.C., the week of March 10 to meet with Idaho’s Congressional delegation and senior Department of Energy staff members. 

In addition to Mayor Casper, the delegation consisted of Lane Allgood, executive director of the Partnership for Science and Technology; Michelle Holt, CEO of the Greater Idaho Falls Chamber of Commerce; Linda Martin, CEO of Grow Idaho Falls; and Ann Riedesel board chair of Grow Idaho Falls.

The purpose of the trip was to establish relationships with key DOE decision makers, members of Congress and appropriations staff, and to voice support for continued missions and projects at the Idaho National Laboratory, the Idaho Cleanup Project, the Advanced Waste Mixed Treatment Project and the Naval Reactors Facility.

“Our key message to both our Congressional delegation and the DOE senior staff was that our community is proud to host the Idaho National Laboratory, and we look forward to continuing to support the lab in its ongoing and future missions including the completion of the safe environmental cleanup at the site,” said Mayor Casper. “In turn, the message we received from them was that community involvement in DOE’s decision making process is more important now than it’s ever been.  Our advocacy was well-received and viewed as critical to the continued work of the INL and Naval Reactors Facility, especially during these challenging budget times,” adds Casper.

“The 2014 and 2015 budgets were discussed in almost every meeting. It was clear that the current budget challenges could have impacts to future laboratory and cleanup projects, making our community’s presence imperative. While the 2014 budget showed an improvement from previous years, we need to remain diligent and fully engaged in tracking future budget activities.”  Allgood said.

The East Idaho delegation encouraged Congressional and DOE leaders to maintain the Nuclear Energy and Environmental Management budgets next year and beyond.

The Eastern Idaho delegation met with the following individuals and organizations:

Office of U.S. Senator Mike Crapo:  Senator Mike Crapo and Jessica Smith, Legislative Assistant

Office of U.S. Senator Risch: Senator James Risch; John Sandu, Chief of Staff; and Brianne Miller, Legislative Assistant

Office of U.S. Congressman Mike Simpson: Congressman Mike Simpson and Sarah Cannon, Appropriation Associate

Office of U.S. Congressman Raul Labrador: Congressman Raul Labrador; Brad Griff, Legislative Assistant; and Alexa Walker Scheduler, Legislative Assistant

DOE Office of Nuclear Energy: Dr. Pete Lyons, Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy

DOE Office of Environmental Management: David Huizenga, Senior Adviser for Environmental Management;  Colin Jones, Senior Policy Advisor, Office of Environmental Management

DOE Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy: Dr. David Danielson, Assistant Secretary; Michelle Wyman, Director of Intergovernmental Affairs

DOE Office of the Secretary: Mary Louise Wagner, Senior Policy Advisor; Betsy Connell, Senior Advisor

U.S. Senate Committee on Armed Services: Jonathan Epstein, Counsel

National Nuclear Security Administration: Anne M. Harrington, Deputy Administrator for Defense Nuclear Nonproliferation

U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources:  Dr. Ron Faibish, Science Fellow

Nuclear Energy Institute: Everett Redmond, Senior Director, Nonproliferation and Fuel Cycle Policy; Mary Pietrzyk, Manager, Fuel Cycle Policy and Programs

CH2MHILL: Robert Hood, Vice President for U.S. Government Affairs

URS: Ricardo Bernal, Director, Government Relations


Posted on March 24, 2014 .